Arriving in Florida

I went sideways a bit from Lake Wales. Joyce (Ulrey) Daley had made a comment to Margaret that I had better visit them while I am down here. I tried to contact them but it did not work. A surprise visit would actually not be such a surprise. When the bus nose got close to the front gate, Joyce was in the side yard doing some chores. The gate opened. Jud and Joyce met me. We got the bus parked properly, and remembering old times began. I stayed there three nights and went to church with them. We tried to make things work to see Steve Carter, another member of my HS graduating class of 1967. Things did not work, but I promised that I would see him before I left Florida.

The next destination was Mitchell’s Landing near Ochopee, Florida. That is where I camped a lot two years ago. I got there late in the evening. I was the only camper in the place. There is so little to set up. There were three trucks with airboat trailers by the Everglade entrance. I thought I recognized the rigs as being the guys I met there at my last visit. It was late, I went to bed.
After breakfast, an airboat came in from the glades. Nope, the guys here are not who I thought. It was the two Mitchells and a friend. The friend had to come back a day early and go to work. We had a nice chat and again I learned a lot.
If you recall my visit here two years ago, I mentioned that the Mitchells bought the ground and developed the entrance facilities to the Everglades. The government pulled some shenanigans and forced the Mitchells out for a price far less than the money they had invested. This man’s story was very similar with a bunch more detail that did not make it any less ugly. The information of less than two years old was just as interesting. The campground is not having enough business to satisfy the effort and resources to keep it open. The area has been defunded. No camp hosts are there any more. NO maintenance is being done from whatever political realm is in control. The only thing that still is in effect is there is a charge for staying there.
The area did not look in bad of shape. Alan, the guy I was talking to, said that the mowing in the park is being done by a private individual. He knows who but would not tell me. I think it probably is the Mitchells. That would be the guys that built the place, but I guess I will never know. To be allowed to camp there, people have to go to the visitor center on route 41. I went there. They really do not care much but there is nothing they will do for anyone out there. If there is a problem, the camper is all alone solving it. They told me that I can get reservations on the phone and there is no reservation fee mark up. There is still no phone service there. The only water or electricity available is in the sites that were set up for the camp hosts, “If they are even turned on any more”. They are not. Those sources have been turned off.
They directed me to Monument Lake about ten miles west on route 41. There is a telephone tower right next to the entrance to the park. Service will be great. They did not want to make reservations for Monument Lake. It is really not part of what they do. I should go out there, find a site if there is any available, and make reservations AND PAY via telephone. Mountain Lake is not heavily populated. I was the second camper out here. I found a spot and called in. It all worked, EXCEPT……….. The phone was great when we got together on it. I called. “ Your wait time will be 37 minutes. You can wait on the phone or we can call you back without you losing place in line.” That was easy, call me back. One hour and thirty two minutes later the phone rang. “You are number 1 in line to speak to an agent. Please hold.” OK, I wait. Twenty eight minutes later, an agent came on the line. All went well. Yes, it went well and only took 2 hours and twenty minutes to get it done. I signed in for three days. This is an OK camp area. I will stay for the rest of a week. Needless to say, that extension took over an hour to accomplish.
A camper is limited to 14 days in any campground. Liking the area, I decided to stay another week here and then move to Midway Campground, eight miles east. I decided to make the Midway reservation before I made the reservation for here because I could go to Mitchell’s Landing if there was a problem. When she came on, she sounded young and inexperienced. “How can I help you?” “I would like to make reservations for Midway Campgrounds.” “There is not such a place.” “It is on route 41.” “Nope, I am looking at the map. There is not such a place.” “Ok, then I want to make a different reservation for Monument Lake.” “OK and what days would you like to be there?” “I would like to come in on the 7th and leave on the 14th.” “Great, oh there it is. There is a Midway campground.” “ OK, we will get to that after we have this done.” “OK and how long is your unit?” On and on, we got the reservation made. At the end, she gives me a quote that is not right. I started to push it a little bit, but it was $7 difference. “Well, OK. Let’s make the other reservation and you can charge my account one time for both reservations.” “Oh, I have to stop that charge………….There I got it cancelled. Now what other reservation do you want?” “I would like to make a reservation for Midway Campgrounds.” “Why? We just got done making that reservation.”
Now I know the difference in price. “No, that reservation was for Monument Lake.” “Now you are trying to change your reservation. There is a fee for that.” “Changing reservations is usually $100 fee, I will try to work it out so the charge will only be $10.” We started over, from the beginning. About that time, my credit card sent me a note saying that a charge has been attempted on my card and was canceled. It has again been attempted. Your card will not work until you contact the Fraud Department for your card. I asked what was happening. She was still trying to charge the Midway reservation that we are abandoning, and she wants to charge a change fee. I told her the credit card company said, ‘no’, and I had to straighten it out with them. BYE. She told me that if I attempted to make any more reservations, the change fee would be in force.
The credit card company was nice and friendly. No problem. I waited two hours and tried to make my reservations again. I made the call and decided to just wait for an agent. They told me the wait time would be 19 minutes. The agent came on the line after a wait of 58 minutes and 23 seconds.
The lady who came on, knew what she was doing and both reservations went well. Frustrating, but I am signed up with campsites until 12/28.
Several animals have made themselves known. Alligators for sure. There are warning signs pointing out the attraction pets have for alligators. There was a cougar went through camp. Pelicans and egrets can be seen once in a while. The only time I had my camera available was when the Turkey Vultures visited camp.
IMG_0187

Safety is just a matter of staying aware and alert.
I spent the two weeks at Monument Lake then moved to Midway Campgrounds. This also is a lake with a road around it. Camping is on the outside of the road. Then inside is designated as warning area for the alligators. I have seen one. The real difference in the two campgrounds is the first had road made out of crushed seashells, no electricity but excellent phones. The second has paved roads, electricity, and iffy phone service at best.

Surprise, surprise……. I have talked to about everyone camping here. I have not found any major stories to share, but it is enjoyable.

Since there was a long void in my blog, I thought I ought to share an experience for that time.
There was a happening that made me happy, proud, and encouraged. I was travelling on a 6 lanes highway (3X3). Traffic was a bit tight. My bus was in the right lane as it should be. A car came up and in an unhurried passing mode. It got almost passed me, when it slowed dramatically. It fell back so it was about even with my back bumper and then it picked up pace and slowly passed me. I noticed the passenger in the car playing with her smart phone. About ten minutes later, our two vehicles were side by side again. I could see on her phone a picture of a Bald Eagle on a dumpster. I had taken that picture in Alaska. I chuckled a bit and passed it off. It was over an hour later (more than 50 miles down the road), the traffic came to a stop light. Traffic in the lane just left of me stopped. My lane was moving forward for quite a bit. I came upon that same car. The passenger was still digging in my blog. She had a picture of her screen that I had taken in Acadia National Park in Maine. I do not know how often it happens, but I do know that at least once someone spent some time in my blog as a result of the address being painted on the side of my bus.
So now Christmas is past time and bed time here. I will try to get this posted in the morning. Good night.

Leave a comment